The expedition

"Whoever travels without meeting the other does not travel, he moves" Alexandra David-Néel


If the Pan-American is a route of geographical, climatic and sociological contrasts, it nevertheless offers an invaluable common denominator to all these countries it crosses: indigenous populations. Over 80 million, approximately 6 % of the world's population, live in the Americas.
The progressive disappearance of autochthony and its sufferings (discrimination, marginalization, extreme poverty) is a major phenomenon. It is a threat to the very identity of our species, making it significantly more homogeneous than it has been for millennia. Because they are sensitive to this cause, two adventurers will go out to meet them, to learn and bear witness to their fate. They will echo their words little heard through a notebook that will be entirely dedicated to them and in which they will express themselves. This notebook will be returned at the end of the trip to UNESCO.

From North to South, along this vast continent, the Terra America expedition immerses itself in the worlds of 21 Native American Indian peoples.

The two adventurers at the wheel of their vintage car will be welcomed in each tribe by a woman thus paving the way in her community. Their contacts will need several days to create a bond of trust, share with them their ways of life, their knowledge, exchange views on the current world, understand their struggles, transcribe their hopes together.

From the polar climate to the equatorial climate, from Prudhoe Bay by 70 ° North in Alaska, to Ushuaia by 50 ° South in Tierra del Fuego, the legendary Pan-American illustrates over 40,000 km the confrontations between development and the preservation of nature, all the human contrasts. and natural of the Americas.

The expedition that will leave between the months of June and August 2021 will cross in 3 main parts (North, Central and South America) 14 countries and 4 climatic zones revealing an infinite variety of landscapes. The Citroën Traction avant will be the vector of sympathy for the journey. A French car, popular, an old lady of over 80 years who, under its now resolutely old appearance, is a remarkable raid car, combining robustness and mechanical simplicity.

North and Central America: The Pan-American starts from Prudhoe Bay in Alaska at 70 ° N. From there it continues to Canada where a few different routes head further south to the United States. This is where things get a little confusing, as the US federal government has declared ALL interstate highways as part of the Pan American Highway. On this map we have grouped the best north-south highways to Mexico.
The Terra America expedition will take Highway 15 to reach Los Angeles, the end of the first part of the trip.

South America : The Pan Am resumes in Turbo, Colombia before continuing south, following the west coast of South America through Ecuador (including the capital Quito) and Peru (including the capital Lima) and up to Chile. Here, a branch makes its way to Quellón while the main road heads to Argentina and Buenos Aires. From Mendoza, the Terra America expedition will travel south by taking Route 40 (Argentina's longest route, 5000km, parallel to the Andes Cordillera and crossing 20 national parks) to Tierra del Fuego.


Terra America, a human and mechanical adventure, is part of the legacy of the expeditions imagined and led by André Citroën from the 1920s, when the automobile was considered as a means of exploration around the world and of bringing together peoples. Despite a century of evolution in means of transport, the automobile is still today a tool of autonomy and simplicity for traveling such distances.

Two women for a wheel: Terra America a female road movie
From the Arctic Circle to the far reaches of Alaska, the tandem goes to Ushuaia. But it's not the destination that matters, it's the road. Beyond the meeting with the indigenous peoples, the two women will experience mechanical hazards, resourcefulness, bivouacs. They will cross the sumptuous natural landscapes of the American continent, the historical sites of ancient Mayan and Inca civilizations, the large modern cities crowded, noisy, stunning as the peaceful side roads. This trip is also one of extraordinary, spontaneous, unusual encounters with women and men with whom they will share memorable moments of life.
With two seats in the back, they will also be able to welcome guests, “great witnesses”, wishing to experience their daily expedition for a few days: the privilege for Terra America to offer a more in-depth look at subjects of interests of which they are specialists.

80,000,000
D & #039; INDIGENOUS
american
40,000+
KILOMETERS
from North to south
21
PEOPLES
in immersion
14
COUNTRY
crossed
2
WOMEN
on board
1
CAR
legendary French

Subscribe to the expedition blog

Get new content delivered straight to your inbox.

L’expédition

« Celui qui voyage sans rencontrer l’autre ne voyage pas, il se déplace » Alexandra David-Néel


Si la Panaméricaine est une route de contrastes géographiques, climatiques et sociologiques, elle offre néanmoins un inestimable dénominateur commun à tous ces pays qu’elle traverse : des populations autochtones. Plus de 80 millions, environ 6 % de la population mondiale, vivent sur le continent américain.
La disparition progressive de l’autochtonie et ses souffrances (discrimination, marginalisation, extrême pauvreté) est un phénomène majeur. C’est une menace pour l’identité même de notre espèce, en la rendant sensiblement plus homogène qu’elle ne l’a été durant des millénaires. Parce que sensibles à cette cause, deux aventurières vont aller à leur rencontre, pour apprendre et témoigner de leur sort. Elles se feront l’écho de leur parole peu entendue au travers d’un carnet qui leur sera entièrement dédié et dans lequel ils s’exprimeront. Ce carnet sera remis à la fin du voyage à l’UNESCO.

Du Nord au Sud, le long de ce vaste continent, l’expédition Terra America s’immerge dans les univers de 21 peuplades autochtones amérindiennes.

Les deux aventurières au volant de leur voiture ancienne seront accueillies dans chaque tribu par une femme ouvrant ainsi la voie dans sa communauté, Plusieurs jours à leurs contacts seront nécessaires pour créer un lien de confiance, partager avec eux leurs modes de vie, leurs savoirs, échanger des regards croisés sur le monde actuel, comprendre leurs luttes, transcrire ensemble leurs espoirs.

Du climat polaire au climat équatorial, depuis Prudhoe Bay par 70° Nord en Alaska, à Ushuaïa par 50° Sud en Terre de Feu, la légendaire Panaméricaine illustre sur 40 000 km les confrontations entre développement et préservation de la nature, tous les contrastes humains et naturels des Amériques.

L’expédition qui partira entre les mois de juin et août 2021 traversera en 3 grandes parties (Amérique du Nord, Centrale et Sud) 14 pays et 4 zones climatiques révélant ainsi une infinie variété de paysages. La Citroën Traction avant sera le vecteur de sympathie du périple. Une voiture française, populaire, une vieille dame de plus de 80 ans qui, sous son allure aujourd’hui résolument ancienne, est une remarquable voiture de raid, alliant robustesse et simplicité mécanique.

Amérique du Nord et Centrale : La Panaméricaine débute de Prudhoe Bay en Alaska par 70°N. De là, elle continue vers le Canada où quelques itinéraires différents se dirigent plus au sud vers les États-Unis. C’est ici que les choses deviennent un peu déroutantes, car le gouvernement fédéral américain a déclaré TOUTES les routes interétatiques comme faisant partie de la route panaméricaine. Sur cette carte, nous avons regroupé les meilleures autoroutes nord-sud jusqu’au Mexique.
L’expédition Terra America prendra la Highway 15 pour rejoindre Los Angeles, terme de la 1ère partie du voyage.

Amérique du Sud : La Panaméricaine reprend à Turbo, en Colombie, avant de continuer vers le sud, en suivant la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Sud en passant par l’Équateur (y compris la capitale Quito) et le Pérou (y compris la capitale Lima) et jusqu’au Chili. Ici, une branche fait son chemin vers Quellón tandis que la route principale se dirige vers l’Argentine et Buenos Aires. Depuis Mendoza, l’expédition Terra America fera route Sud en empruntant la route 40 (la route la plus longue de l’Argentine, 5000km, parallèle à la Cordillère des Andes et traversant 20 parcs nationaux) jusqu’en Terre de Feu.


Terra America, aventure humaine et mécanique, s’inscrit dans l’héritage des expéditions imaginées et animées par André Citroën à partir des années 20, où l’automobile était considérée comme un moyen d’exploration à travers le monde et de rapprochement entre les peuples. Malgré un siècle d’évolution des moyens de transport, l’automobile reste aujourd’hui encore un outil d’autonomie et de simplicité pour parcourir de telles distances.

Deux femmes pour un volant : Terra America un road movie féminin
Du cercle polaire aux confins de l’Alaska, le tandem va à Ushuaïa. Mais ce n’est pas la destination qui compte, c’est la route. Au-delà de la rencontre avec les peuples autochtones, les deux femmes vont vivre les aléas mécaniques, la débrouille, les bivouacs. Elles vont traverser les paysages naturels somptueux du continent américain, les sites historiques des civilisations anciennes Mayas et Incas, les grandes villes modernes bondées, bruyantes, étourdissantes comme les paisibles chemins de traverses. Ce voyage, c’est aussi celui de rencontres extraordinaires, spontanées, insolites avec des femmes et des hommes avec qui elles vont partager de mémorables moments de vie.
Disposant de deux places à l’arrière, elles pourront également accueillir des invités, “grands témoins”, souhaitant vivre durant quelques jours leur quotidien de l’expédition : le privilège pour Terra America d’offrir un regard plus approfondi sur des sujets d’intérêts dont ils sont spécialistes.

80,000,000
D'AUTOCHTONES
américains
40,000+
KILOMETRES
du Nord au Sud
21
PEUPLES
en immersion
14
PAYS
traversés
2
FEMMES
à bord
1
VOITURE
légendaire française

Abonnez-vous au blog de l’expédition

Recevez directement le nouveau contenu dans votre boîte de réception.